How I Use Instagram to Advertise

IMG_3480

I was hesitant to separate my personal account from my photography because I feared it would be too much work, but I decided to try it and I’m glad I did. I realized my photography business needed its own page to focus solely on marketing to potential clients.

I try to post on my Instagram page at least twice a week to keep engagement up. I use hashtags and location tags to attract attention from local people who might be looking for a photographer. Every once in a while I will pay a couple of dollars for a week of paid promotion on Instagram that targets Albuquerque and Valencia County.

Whenever I’m on location during a session with a client, I try to post on my personal story as well as my photography page and tag the person who I’m with. Chances are they will share the video on their story and broaden the scope of my page’s reach.

I stress to my clients that when they post a photo I took of them that they tag me in their post. Their circle of followers will now be exposed to my photos and if they like them, will have an easy route back to my pages.

Leave a comment