How I Help Clients Feel Comfortable in Front of the Camera

Something I am always trying to get better at is making my clients feel more comfortable for photos. Everyone gets a little nervous in front of the camera, so I’ve listed my go-to moves for helping clients loosen up.

 

IMG_0220

Props

I always tell clients to bring at least one prop that they would like to have in their photos, whether it be a jersey from a favorite sports time, a favorite book, or a stethoscope for a future med student. Bringing props helps make the photos unique to each client, and showcases what is important to them during this time of their life.

 

IMG_8072

 

Give direction

If someone is having a particularly tough time coming up with posing ideas, I try to get them started. Sometimes looking away from the camera helps alleviate some of the pressure, so I’ll tell them to look away and laugh or look away and give their best dramatic “look off into the distance” pose. Always remember though: if they feel awkward, they will look awkward, so ask them if the direction you gave feels like something they would do. If not, try something else.

 

engagement_9

 

Make them laugh

The nervous energy will be higher than usual, so any stupid joke will play better in this situation. I try to make jokes to lessen the tension and help get more natural looking photos. I start with having the clients look away from the camera (again, to alleviate some of the pressure) and fake laugh. I’ll try to say something funny and once they start laughing, I make sure to get as many photos as I can.

 

Caine_

Always listen to them

I mentioned this earlier, but I need to stress the importance: pay attention to your clients. If they feel uncomfortable, it’s your job to make them more comfortable in front of the camera. This starts long before getting to the photoshoot. Talk with them and make yourself as personable as you can. The more they feel they know you, the less silly they will feel being vulnerable in front of them. Listen to your clients and they will listen to you.

Leave a comment