My First 6 Years

At the time I’m writing this, I’ll have been a photographer for 6 years. I wanted to share quick tips for some of the different kinds of events I’ve photographed.

 

01

Working with kids

Working with little ones can be a challenge because they can never seem to stay in the same place for too long. I learned to have my camera set to take a burst of photos rather than one at a time. Keep your shutter speed high to avoid motion blur when they suddenly decide to move. Most importantly, never be afraid of looking silly if it means getting them to smile. I’ve developed a library of funny noises to get their attention and get them to laugh. Do what it takes to get the shot.

 

IMG_0720-2

Switch up perspectives

After I got the hang of covering weddings, I started getting fatigued of the same old photos I would take. Each session would have similarities, and I realized quickly that I need to get out of my comfort zone to stay inspired. That meant that I would need to find ways to gain a new perspective of the subjects of my photos. Go where no one else will think to go.

 

IMG_7725

Listen to your subjects

We were finishing up an autumn-themed photoshoot when one of my models asked if we could try to get a photo in the parking lot with the mountains behind them. I was struck that I hadn’t thought of it myself, and I was so glad she felt like she could make suggestions. Inspiration and good ideas can come from anywhere, including the people in your photos.

 

IMG_0232

Don’t be afraid of the dark

Event photography at night forces you to think about your light sources. Initially I thought I could only use flash to light up a photo, but after lot and lots of practice, I found that I could use what little light I had to frame a photo without flash. What I did was set my aperture low and my exposure high, and brightened up the RAW photo in Lightroom after the fact.

Leave a comment