What a Typical Session Looks Like

IMG_7665

Consultation

The first thing that happens when a new client reaches out to me is a consultation meeting. We discuss what they had in mind, I show them my portfolio and give ideas as to what we could do to execute their ideas. The whole point of this meeting is to determine if we’d be a good fit for each other.

IMG_9974

The Photo Shoot

Once a location, date, and time has been chosen, the photo shoot will take place. I always plan my sessions about an hour (or more) before the sun goes down because that is the most beautiful and usable light.

Many times the subjects like to bring someone with them to the shoot, and I fully support this idea. Having a familiar face there can help the subject feel more comfortable in an already stressful situation (being in front of the camera is never easy!).

We walk around the location finding the best spots to take photos. I try to get to know my subject better and let them get to know me better too. Creating that trust is so important for getting natural-looking photographs.

Once our time is up and we have plenty of photos, I go home and start looking through them, keeping in mind what the clients wanted. I choose the best photos and retouch them according to my style. I try to finish the photos as soon as possible so the clients can see them immediately.

Leave a comment